|
FusionAddict User

Send Message
Home Page
| Re: TR2N News - 7/27/2008 8:26:55 AM Everyone pay attention, because I'm only going to say this once. TR2N.COM AND TR2NMOVIE.COM HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH TRON 2.
In the case of TR2NMOVIE.COM, Electron Networks is a real computer consulting firm, in fact a friend of mine who lives in LA and does IT for a law firm deals with them often. Do you really think a Disney film viral marketing site would spend the money to slap Microsoft, HP, Dell and IBM (not to mention Cisco, Linksys and Symantec) logos on a dummy site when A) the film hasn't even been cast or budgeted yet and B) the CEO of Apple is on their board of directors?
As for TR2N.COM...why would Disney host a viral site on mac.com? They have their own web hosting server farms with all the space they ever need.
On top of that, BUYNLARGE.COM, the viral site set up for WALL*E, has Disney's info filled in on the Whois. Disney never leaves their Whois blank or masked.
What you have here, I believe, are two clear cases of cybersquatting, or the buying up of names in order to resell them later for inflated prices. If Disney wanted to use the TR2NMOVIE.COM domain, for example, they would have to go to Electron Networks and pay them exorbitant fees to transfer it.
And remember, what you saw is not a trailer. It was a proof of concept...a demo reel, nothing more. It's the modern equivalent of Lisberger's "prison escape" short with Sam Schatz. Irregardless of what Jim Hill (who has been wrong many many times about many many things) says, the film has NOT been greenlit, and is not considered greenlit until the budget has been set and set construction, location scouting or soundstage filming begins. The Clu abides, man... 
       
|
|